Raleigh Relocation Resources

Triangle & North Carolina Tax Information

When living in the Triangle you can enjoy some of the most affordable tax rates in the nation! To help you get a better idea of what you might expect to pay for your preferred area, we've compiled some handy resources for local and state information, including links directly to your preferred county's website.

If you have any questions, your Buyer Specialist is able to provide you with more information and insight.

Triangle Area Tax Information

Wake County

Centrally located in the Triangle area of North Carolina, Wake County is one of the fastest growing areas in the nation and the second-most populous county in the state with approximately 1,025,000 residents. The County was founded in 1771, currently encompasses about 860 square miles, and is the center of the state government. Its county seat, Raleigh, is home to North Carolina's Capitol Building, legislature, and many government offices. Wake County is a thriving community whose population has grown approximately 142% since 1990, 52% since 2000, 14% since 2010, and is forecasted to maintain substantial growth of approximately 25,000 new residents per year for the next few decades.

Wake County Tax Admin

Durham County

Durham County was formed on April 17, 1881 from parts of Orange County and Wake County, taking the name of its own county seat, the City of Durham. In 1911 parts of Cedar Fork Township of Wake County were transferred to Durham County and became Carr Township.

Durham County Tax Admin

Orange County

Nestled into the hills of the North Carolina Piedmont, Orange County is located between the Research Triangle Park and the Triad cities of Greensboro, Winston-Salem and High Point. With more than 130,000 residents, Orange County includes historic Hillsborough, the county seat; Chapel Hill, home of the University of North Carolina; and Carrboro and Mebane, former railroad and mill towns.

Orange County Tax Admin

Johnston County

Johnston County (locally known as "JoCo") was formed in 1746 from Craven County and was named for Gabriel Johnston, royal governor of North Carolina from 1734 to 1752. Johnston's topography is characteristic of both the Coastal Plain and Piedmont because it lies almost wholly within the "fall zone" or transitional area between these two geographic regions. Johnston has nine incorporated towns; however, 65% of its people live outside incorporated areas. Johnston has a total labor force of 36,000 people, of which 13% work in farming, 39% in manufacturing, and 48% in service and other non-manufacturing jobs. Johnston has 27 industries with 20 or more employees, most of which have been in business since the 1950s. These industries include processors of food and grain products and manufacturers of textiles, pharmaceuticals, furniture, and electronic products.

Johnston County Tax Admin

Need More Triangle Relocation Information?

Let us be your guide! We have been living and breathing real estate in North Carolina and we've got all the information you need to know to make that big move. 

More Relocation Information

Contact Us

By giving us your phone number and email address, you are giving Marti Hampton Real Estate permission to contact you via email or phone.